#GiveIntrovertsSomeLoveToo

How do you think other people see you?

“I think the first word people think is “quiet”, but once they get to know me they see me as a girl that dreams big  and cares about the future of other people and possibly a revolutionary. . In class people call me “humanitarian” and some have mocked me as a “radical”. It can go both ways. I feel like often times people think that there is a correlation that being shy means you don’t have much to say, but sometimes it’s completely the opposite. #GiveIntrovertsSomeLoveToo”

“I’m from South Central Los Angeles, but three years ago moved to a neighborhood between Compton and Watts called Willowbrook. My dream job is to be the first Latina mayor of Los Angeles and maybe even be the president too. But I would like to start off in Los Angeles first and just find ways to improve the lives of the people in the city.”

If you could change anything in the world, what would it be?

“If I could change anything, I think I would like to change our school curriculum. I can stress enough on how our school curriculum does not empower youth of color and how it puts emphasis on grades rather than actual learning. It just needs a lot of fixing. It is the reason why I wake up and go to school upset.”

What is some advice you would give to someone dealing with self-doubt?

“I have problems with self-doubt too but there are some pieces of advice that I try to go by or am currently learning.”

  • “Never depend your happiness on someone else. Whether it be a partner, parent, or friend. Do things that make you happy but also keep in mind on how your actions affect the well being of those around you.”

“Surround yourself with people that motivate you and cut off toxic people. I learned that  sometimes the people that  are meant to love you can actually be toxic.”

“Think of your ancestors. As a young woman of color, I sometimes find myself extremely doubtful of what I can do, but I always think of the mujeres that came before me and how now the baton has been passed to me.  I was talking to a friend a while back and explaining to her how my parent’s indigenous background would have made me an oppressed minority even back in their home country. So I just have this idea that me being here and doing all the things I do is already breaking boundaries and I have to move forward in order to break those boundaries for others.”

What has been the happiest moment of your life thus far?

“My happiest moment so far would have to be when I was able to travel to Rome. I was lucky  enough to go see another part of the world that was extremely far. The culture was extremely different. Especially the food (their food isn’t industrialized like the U.S).  Every car you see was mostly likely a Fiat and it made me realize how the cars in the U.S. are big and it has to do with the fact that we purposefully built huge highways in the 50’s,  however the roads in Italy were meant for walking. I made a lot of weird connections. One thing I did find myself disappointed in was that I realized that the Western World believed that Rome had such significant cant historical value that it was worth preserving, yet in countries in Latin America had a majority of its history destroyed.  So honestly, if I ever end up traveling all over Latin America, I think that will definitely end up topping this experience.”

–  Ana Ortega


I am starting this project where I will be interviewing my latinx community. I want to display this because Latinx people play a huge role in America. The first person I interviewed was Ana Ortega. Her and I have the same name. (: Right off the bat you can notice that Ana is a hard working girl. Although she is shy, she has huge plans and a huge heart. She shared some of her tips on dealing with self-doubt, we could all take a good read at those!

Leave a Reply

